top of page

Virtual Advocacy Day: Social Media

Sample Tweets and Facebook posts for your legislators:


[Insert Legislator Username] In 2018, victim service advocates served 17,103 sexual assault survivors, a 20% increase from the previous year. Supporting sustained funding of victim services is crucial to enabling programs to continue improving services for all survivors. #AdvocacyDayIA


To be sent to Speaker Linda Upmeyer (Facebook @SpeakerUpmeyer; Twitter @SpeakerUpmeyer) and Majority Leader Chris Hagenow (Facebook @HagenowforIowa; Twitter @ChrisHagenow) only

[Insert Legislator Username for Rep. Upmeyer or Rep. Hagenow] Please amend the Female Genital Cutting bill SF346 with a community education amendment, which will provide vital support to communities impacted by this practice. Putting laws into place before educating communities would cause more harm.#AdvocacyDayIA

SENATE SOCIAL MEDIA PUBLIC USERNAMES (alphabetically by last name, for Facebook and Twitter):*

*N/A indicates there is no known public social media username for this legislator

Jerry Behn: N/A

Tony Bisignano: Facebook @SenatorBisignano; Twitter @senbisignano

Joe Bolkcom: Facebook @Sen.Joe.Bolkcom; Twitter @JoeBolkcom

Nate Boulton: Facebook @senatorboulton; Twitter @NateBoulton

Michael Breitbach: Facebook @SenatorMichaelBrietbach; Twitter N/A

Waylon Brown: Facebook click here; Twitter @WaylonForSenate

Jim Carlin: Facebook @CarlinforIowaSenate; Twitter N/A

Claire Celsi: Facebook @Claire4IASenate; Twitter @SenClaireCelsi

Jake Chapman: Facebook @VoteJakeChapman; Twitter N/A

Mark Costello: N/A

Chris Cournoyer: Facebook @ChrisCournoyerIA; Twitter N/A

Dan Dawson: Facebook @DawsonForSenate;Twitter @Dawson4Senate

William A. Dotzler Jr.: Facebook @bill.dotzler; Twitter @DotzlerBill

Jeff Edler: Facebook click here; Twitter @EdlerForSenate

Randy Feenstra: Facebook @FeenstraForCongress; Twitter @RandyFeenstra

Julian B. Garrett: Facebook click here; Twitter N/A

Thomas A. Greene: Facebook click here; Twitter N/A

Dennis Guth: Facebook @guth4senate; Twitter N/A

Robert Hogg: Facebook @hoggforsenate; Twitter @SenatorRobHogg

Pam Jochum: Facebook @senatorpamjochum; Twitter N/A

Craig Johnson: Facebook click here; Twitter N/A

Tim L. Kapucian: N/A

Kevin Kinney: Facebook @kinneyforsenate; Twitter N/A

Carrie Koelker: Facebook @KoelkerIowaSenate; Twitter @CarrieKoelkerIA

Tim Kraayenbrink: Facebook @SenatorKraayenbrink; Twitter N/A

Mark S. Lofgren: N/A

Jim Lykam: Facebook @jlykam; Twitter N/A

Liz Mathis: Facebook @IowaStateSenatorLizMathis; Twitter @LizMathis1

Mariannette Miller-Meeks: @MillerMeeksIA; Twitter @millermeeks

Zach Nunn: Facebook @FriendsForZachNunn; Twitter N/A

Janet Petersen: Facebook @janet4iowa; Twitter @janet4iowa

Herman C. Quirmbach: N/A

Amanda Ragan: Facebook @StateSenatorAmandaRagan; Twitter @senatorragan

Ken Rozenboom: Facebook @RozenboomForSenate; Twitter N/A

Charles Schneider: Facebook @SchneiderForSenate; Twitter @SenSchneider

Jason Schultz: N/A

Mark Segebart: Facebook @MarkSegebartforIowaSenate; Twitter N/A

Tom Shipley: N/A

Amy Sinclair: N/A

Jackie Smith: Facebook @IowaSenateDistrict7; Twitter @JackieforIowa

Roby Smith: Facebook @SmithforIowa; Twitter N/A